As an admin, you have the ability to add, remove, and repurpose Outreach licenses (seats) as needed.
Add a Seat
To add a seat:
Go to settings -> users:
On the top right of the page, click on the +user button on the top. If you do not see this button "users" in the settings menu, you do not have an admin seat and will need to reach out to your Outreach admin to add seats.
A screen will appear with fields to fill out for your new user. The only required fields are first name, last name, username and email. We also suggest checking the box to send the user a claim link:
Don't forget to click save.
There are a few issues you could run into:
- Email has already been taken: that means there is a user in your org with that email. You can filter for "locked" users to find that user and unlock their seat. Details on how to find locked users can be found later in this article.
- Nothing happens when you click 'save': you don't have any free licenses. Please email email@example.com to purchase more licenses.
Activate a Locked User
You may receive an error when trying to add a new user that says the user email has already been taken. This suggests the user seat already exists as a locked seat in Outreach, either because the Salesforce plugin created a locked seat based on the plugin settings or because the user was previously an active Outreach user.
Rather than add a new seat, you can find the locked seat for activation.
Select users from settings:
Filter the users by State: Locked
You'll know the filter is active because only users with a red highlighted lock will appear. You can search by the specific user and, when you hover over their name, a drop down arrow will appear. Clicking on the dropdown error will give you the option to unlock the new user:
Once unlocked, the red highlighted lock will grey out, indicating the user now has an active seat. In the same dropdown menu, "send a claim link" to your new user, where they can set their password and log into the Outreach platform.
You may receive an error that says you can't unlock your user because your org has reached your active user count.
This suggests you have exceeded your available licenses. Please reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org to add additional seats to your org.
Remove a Seat
When a user leaves the company or switches to a new role that doesn't require Outreach, you have the ability to remove the user from Outreach.
Select "users" under settings:
Find the user you'd like to remove. When you hover over their name, you'll see a dropdown arrow appear on the right hand side of their name, next to the last login date. Clicking on this dropdown menu reveals two options, "Lock" or "Send Claim Link". To remove the user, select "Lock".
You'll see the user disappear from the list of active users.
If you do not have any available licenses but do not want to purchase additional licenses, you can repurpose existing seats. Locking a user will free up a license, so you can either add a new user or unlock a seat for a new user that needs access to Outreach.
The steps for repurposing seats is as follows:
- Lock user who no longer needs access to Outreach
- Activate previously locked user or create new user
- Send claim link to new user to grant access